Reviews

United Kingdom
We just can’t praise the property enough,the care from Thor for the information he supplied while our stay,the surroundings were perfect.we just can’t praise it enough , will definitely return. Magical.
Graham Jacobs and family, Fareham, U. K., February 2017
Portugal
Para quem gosta de ficar perto da natureza. Uma casa bem equipada e muito bonita. Perto do aeroporto e Reykjavik. Muito limpa. Confortável e quente. Uma óptima estadia em grupo. O dono muito simpático e atencioso, disponível para qualquer assunto.
Vitor Costa, Lisboa, Portugal, February 2017
Austria
Der Besitzer, Thor Saari, ist freundlich und hilfsbereit. Das Ferienhaus ist auf der Halbinsel Alftanes gelegen und bietet einen Blick über die Meeresbucht herüber nach Hafnarfjörður. Es liegt so ruhig, dass die Kunstlichter der Metropolenregion Reykjavík nicht bei der Betrachtung der Aurora borealis stören, aber doch so zentral, dass man mit dem Auto in knapp 20 Minuten in der Stadt ist. Für Ornithologen ist es ein Paradies, man beobachtet mühelos Kolkraben und Singschwäne direkt vor der Haustür. Das Ferienhaus ist wohnlich und komfortabel eingerichtet, mit Fußbodenheizung, perfekt sauber und komplett ausgestattet. Es findet sich jegliches Detail was zur Selbstversorgung benötigt wird, nebst einer kompletten Bibliothek und Musiksammlung. Auch einige DVDs gibt es zur Auswahl. Man kann dieses Ferienhaus für einen Kurzurlaub Reykjavík / Golden Circle nur wärmstens empfehlen.
Andreas Kramer, Vienna, Austria, January 2017
Singapore
It’s a pleasant, safe place even in the night for 2 women walking for half an hour from the bus stop to the location of the house. The surrounding is quiet and tranquil. A cosy home away from home – complete with all the basic necessities (and more like dish washer!) and the rooms are well insulated from the winter cold. We looked forward to soaking in the hot tub outside each night as we gazed at the sky and its stars (untimely for us no aurora borealis because of cloudy skies!) Thor, the proprietor, always walked an extra mile for us on requests such as picking us up at an arranged place when we arrived, picking us up before and dropping us off after grocery shopping and helping us call our tour agency to confirm our bookings. Thanks again Thor for taking time to accommodate us in the midst of your schedule.
Cariona Chan, Singapore, December 2016

Germany

Hlidsnes Holiday Home 1 has to be the best accommodations I have ever stayed at. From the moment we walked in the door, it felt like coming home. Everything you could possibly need is available to you. The owner Thor was so sweet and helpful, any question you may have, he had the answer. Now the location…WOW, since we were there in December there wasn’t much daylight, but that didn’t deviate from the spectacular view all the way around the house. The lights from the city just sparkled and twinkled all night long! Take my word, if you can find an available reservation…grab it!! You won’t be disappointed one bit.
Sylvia Salinas, Alzey, Germany, December 2016
United Kingdom
This is a brilliant house and a great place to stay. We’re already planning a return trip next year. The pictures do not do this place justice, it is fabulous, so clean, well equip and very warm and cosy. The owner Thor is so lovely too.

Leanne Harrad, U.K. November 2016

United StatesThe house was spacious, clean, and neat and featured a great kitchen and fabulous library. Not that we didn’t have reading with us-but any Air BnB that has literature ranging from Donna Leone to the complete works of Lenin, sprinkled with Bertrand Russell and some Icelandic Sagas on the shelf is interesting! Great bird watching and lovely scenery to enjoy on a walk around the property. A very tranquil, but convenient (to both the airport and downtown) location. And the host was so gracious he even drove out to guide us to the house when, exhausted by a long day driving the road to Landmannalauger and unable to read the road signs in the dark, we got disoriented (but nothing to worry about – the next day in good light and well rested after a quiet night, we found our way easily into town and back out again!). Highly recommended.
Jennifer Hoag, Vermont, United States, September 2016
United States
Beautiful house. Spacious. Lots of room for the extended family. Quiet area in a rural setting, but still only a 20 min. drive to the center of Reykjavik. We thouroughly enjoyed our time there.
William Blakely, United States, September 2016
 
Australia
Amazing location and amazing host! Thor was there to meet us for check in and provided all the necessary information to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The house itself is lovely and perfect for our group of 6 offering excellent views of the water. It was well stocked with everything we could need.
We really enjoyed the fact the location was away from the relative hustle and bustle of Reykjavik.
It was an absolute pleasure staying here and would recommend it to anyone.
Wayne Feng, Pymble, Australia. June 2016
United States
Would definitly stay here again! My kids loved the loft area and the horses in the back and we thought it was just a beautiful place to stay. Can’t wait to go back on our next trip to Iceland. Oh, the cookies and milk left for us was such a sweet surprise as well.
Mochua, Chicago, United States. August 2016
United States
This house is surrounded by water and solitude but very handy to the city. If you’re a bird watcher, it’s an exceptional opportunity to see sea and shore birds right outside the door. The views both during the day and at night are breath-taking. The owner is hands-on and generous. Everything you need to make a comfortable stay.
Squirrelee, Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States. July 2016
 
United States
This guest house was simply the best accommodations we have ever had in visits to over 25 countries in the World. The proprietor, Thor, went above and beyond to ensure we had a spectacular stay. He greeted us with a smile and left cookies, coffee, and tea for us. The home is well stocked with everything you could possibly need. We wanted for nothing. Great WiFi and cable TV if you need these things. Hot tub is awesome! Easy drive to town. 5 minutes from a wonderful local geyser swimming pool. The location is beyond words. Living on our private peninsula with 360 degree views of mountains, volcanoes, the ocean, bird life, wild life, marina and the entire city or Reykjavik was simply breathtaking. It doesn’t get any better than this. Coming home to this house after a day of sightseeing in Iceland was comforting and exciting – it made the trip the most memorable we have had. Highly recommend!
John and Martine Carbonaro, United States, July 2016
 
FranceLa location est très bien placé , nous avons aussi beaucoup apprécié le confort de la maison. Vraiment un endroit très agréable en famille ou entre copains . Le bain extérieur est un plus , qui procure un bien fou après une bonne journée de randonnée . Nous étions 4 et tout le monde à beaucoup apprécié.   Jacques Thebert, France, June 2016

U.S.A.
The Best Place on earth!
This guest house was simply the best accommodations we have ever had in visits to over 25 countries in the World. The proprietor, Thor, went above and beyond to ensure we had a spectacular stay. He greeted us with a smile and left cookies, coffee, and tea for us. The home is well stocked with everything you could possibly need. We wanted for nothing. Great WiFi and cable TV if you need these things. Hot tub is awesome! Easy drive to town. 5 minutes from a wonderful local geyser swimming pool. The location is beyond words. Living on our private peninsula with 360 degree views of mountains, volcanoes, the ocean, bird life, wild life, marina and the entire city or Reykjavik was simply breathtaking. It doesn’t get any better than this. Coming home to this house after a day of sightseeing in Iceland was comforting and exciting – it made the trip the most memorable we have had. Highly recommend!
Worldwide 122, July 1016.

U.S.A.
Inviting Respite at end of long trip!
My sister and her teenage kids and I stayed at Thor’s for 2 days at the end of a 10-day adventure around Iceland. We all said that we wished we had more time to enjoy the house and surroundings. Thor was extremely friendly, welcoming and communicative. The house is comfortable, very clean and well appointed for travelers. Only a 20 minute drive to downtown Reykjavik, it provided a lovely, quiet respite from people and great views of the water and many birds.
Stephanie M.,  New Jersey, U.S.A., July 2016

United Kingdom
Beautiful house with peaceful setting and great host!
The host Thor was extremely nice and very accommodating for our ever changing late arrival. The house was beautiful and extremely well equipped including coffee, milk, tea, cookies. The surrounding and views were extraordinary with horses to pet, many birds, and water all around. We look forward to staying at this property again.
Debra C, U.K. July 2016

彥伯
Make yourself at home!
Just 15 minutes of drive from downtown Reykjavík. Hlidsnes House provides spectacular both sea view and mountain view. The apartment is clean and with a fully equipped kitchen. You can easily park your car outside the house and enjoy the whole apartment and a huge backyard with play ground. There also some Icelandic horse just near by the house, just look outside the window! Everything is perfect, highly recommend for tourists travelling by car.
彥伯 賴, July 2016

U.S.A.
WOW! Excellend place to stay!
This is a fabulous house not too far from the KEF airport. The house seems like new, beds are very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and the shower was great. Everything about this house is perfect! The owner, Thor, was very accommodating and even left us tea and cookies on the counter (a much loved treat after flying all night). I would love to stay here again!
HeyKell, California, June 2016

France
Excellent , très bon logement , situation top !
La location est très bien placé , nous avons aussi beaucoup apprécié le confort de la maison .Vraiment un endroit très agréable en famille ou entre copains . Le bain extérieur est un plus , qui procure un bien fou après une bonne journée de randonnée . Nous étions 4 et tout le monde à beaucoup apprécié.
Jacktlmb, Chailland, France, June 2016

U.S.A.
A wonderful, comfortable house perfectly situated outside the city.
This house is great. Not only is it very comfortable, it’s set on a tiny peninsula with only a few other houses surrounded by water. There are great views of Reykjavik and some other towns across the water. The beach along the road was nice to walk along and watch the many types of birds come and go.
Cinnamonapricot, Portland, Oregon, May 2016

United Kingdom
Clean and Serene
Our stay at Hlidsnes 2 was fantastic! The kids enjoyed sleeping up in the loft area where there were 4 single beds and the master suite was downstairs. The area surrounding the house was breathtaking, and you can see water and horses out the windows of the house! We got see seals on the shore near the house and many migrating birds. The house was toasty warm even though the temp outside was still very cool. The drive into the city was very easy and quick, and the location of the house was perfect for all of the sightseeing we did to the Geyser, Blue Lagoon, waterfalls, and the city. Highly recommended! Thor was a fantastic host and even left us with the essentials when we arrived, such as biscuits for the kids and little cartons of milk. He was also kind enough to leave a map of the surrounding area and various restaurants. We had a wonderful first trip to Iceland and would recommend this holiday house. Also check out he local outdoor heated pools/spa at Alftanes! They were fantastic and very nearby.
AussieSnowflakeinUK, London, U.K. April 2016

Canada
Excellent!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hlidsnes Holiday House. It is a nice quiet rural location, perfect for watching the Northern Lights. Saves booking a tour! The house was cozy and accommodated our family very well. Everything worked well. You definitely need a car to base out of this location, but access is very easy to all major roadways. I highly recommend the Hlidsnes Holiday House.
Chris B. Sherwood Park, Canada, April 2016

Netherlands
Our Epic Teambuilding Trip
For a teambuilding trip we went with a 10 person group to Iceland. From the start Thor was very helpful and kind. Everything was what we were hoping for and even more. The nice and warm houses, the welcoming with tea and cookies, the jacuzzi, the views, the sea, the relaxed atmosphere, the nice beds, the kitchen equipment, and last but not least the wheelchair adjustments that were made! Thank you so much for our epic teambuilding trip and arranging the Northern Lights for us, just before we left.
Angelique, Kor, Vivian, Bjorn, Jess, Kyra, Kimberley, Danielle, Danny and Misha, Eindhoven, The Netherlands, March 2016

France
Un excellent séjour très dépaysant
La maison est très agréable : spacieuse, très propre, fonctionnelle,, bien équipé, wifi très performant. Le site est excellent : proche des commerces (il faut une voiture cependant), proche de la capitale, calme, à quelques mètres de la mer, entouré d’oiseaux, canards, chevaux, nature. Très bon point de départ pour rayonner à partir de la route n°1. Seule déception : nous n’avons pas vu d’aurores boréales … mais nous reviendrons !
M Catherine B, Nimes, France, Februar 2016

United States

We’ll appointed house with everything we needed. The setting on the peninsula was stunning.
Alden Thompson and family, College Place,Washington, U.S. 30/6/2015.United States
United States
Traveled with my wife and 3 kids. Great accommodations, close to Reykjavik. The kitchen and outdoor grill helped keep the Icelandic food bill in check, and having a washing machine was a huge help on our extended vacation. Very clean. Everything you could want in a property!
Richard Ford and family, Washington, U.S. 28/6/2015
 …
United Kingdom
Very welcoming place to stay. So quiet, a proper home with lots of space, books, coffee etc. A hot tub and swings in the garden, view of volcano, lots of different birds all around. Very easy to drive to Reykjavik also to get to the airport. Can‘t wait to come again.
Adelaide Kelly and family, Hastings, U.K. 3/7/2015
 …
Germany
You are living in a fantastic house, very well furnished at “the end of the world” on a peninsula with a tremendous view, with lots of birds flying around!! the jacuzzi is a great thing! You are not too far away from R. and from supermarket. We had a lot of fun, and we were happy to relaxe there after our long day trips!!! The owner is a very nice guy and always ready to help!! we will certainly return!!
Marie-Odile Zepp and friends, Germany, 28/6/2015
  …
India
This house was one of the best accommodations in Iceland during our visit. The Apartment is a like home away from home with warmly done up interiors with jacuzzi and barbecue . It has a fantastic view, excellent facilities and a warm and a helpful owner. The owner went all out to drop us at the car rental. We would highly recommend this place for a peaceful, pleasant and a lovely holiday . If given a chance we would love to come back here again.
The Pandey Family, Gurgaon, Haryana, India, 20/6/2015
  …
United Kingdom
Thor was a very courteous host – staying up to meet us after our plane arrived late on the first night, offering to buy groceries for when we arrived and calling us to check we had seen the northern lights. Was lovely to watch the lights from the comfort of the hot tub! Would highly recommend to anyone.
Ana Moriarty and friends, London, U.K. 2/3/2015
  …
United Kingdom
We stayed for just a few nights in early November but wished we had booked for longer. The house was perfect, well equipped, very comfortable and wonderfully located; with panoramic views of the sea and surrounding area and giving easy access to the city and the ‘must see sites’ of south west Iceland. Thor was really helpful and flexible prior to our arrival when we were not sure what time we would arrive and once we reached the house gave us plenty of useful advice for our first Icelandic adventure. This really was one the best holiday houses we have ever had the pleasure of staying in.
The Julian Family, St. Martins, Isles of Scilly
 …

Christopher Leach, Andreas, Isle of Man, U.K.
Immaculate accomodation, fantastic birdlife on a fascinating peninsula. Very convenient for Reykjavik yet a tranquil spot. Excellent value.
Christoper Leach, Andreas, Isle of Man
 …
Allen Geltzer, Mercer Island, Washington.
GREAT place. large, well stocked, clean, and perfect. Large back yard with a swing set. Horses near by. Owner goes out of his way to welcome you and give you cookies on arrival It is driving distance to everything but remote enough to be a country house. Not good for someone wanting to be in the middle of the city. Excellent value, too.
Allen Geltzerc, Mercer Island, Washington
 …
We had a fantastic time in Iceland. The house was a very nice experience for us. It´s very clean and in excellent condition, warm and very quiet. We also enjoyed the cookies and coffee. Better service than any hotel. We could not have asked for a better setting. I stay in many hotels for my work, and Brandy and I have done lots of travelling over the past 15 years. We talked about your house on the way home and both agreed that we liked your place the most of any place we have ever stayed. We loved the warm bathroom floor also! Thanks for the great accommodation and coming and checking on us.
Carl and Brandy Juergensen, Linwood, Ontario
 …
The Lengthorns, Great Britain.
Thank you for a wonderful stay! We have all had a brilliant time. The house is perfect, well furnished and in a beautiful location so very convenient for the capital!  Thank you for thinking of all the little things, tooth picks, ear buds etc. The tea bags, milk and cookies were most welcome upon our late arrival! We’d love up come back again someday and I hope to be able to share the delights of Iceland with my students when I get back to school! It would be excellent to make a school connection!cTakk fyrir,
Elly, Russell, Laurenc and Lorelei Lengthorn, Worchester.
 …
Dean Soukeras, U.S.A.
My family just recently returned from a trip to Iceland, where we stayed at Hlidsnes. The location is amazing. A quick trip to Reykjavik, but far enough away to feel the peace and quiet we went to Iceland to experience. The owner was friendly and helpful and the house itself was our favorite place we stayed on out trip. It was clean, and had all the amenities we wanted. Definitely recommend.
Dean Soukeras, Merrick, New York
 …
Caroline & Christian Cottart, France
Avec un groupe d’ami, on revient d’un séjour en Islande, on a eu la chance de passer quelque jours et nuits sur ce site, un endroit très beau et calme. Un endroit idéale pour observer un magnifique coucher de soleil de minuit en reflet sur l’eau.
We have returned home after a vacation in Iceland with some friends. We had the good opportunity to spend a few days and nights in this place, a very calm and beautiful site. This is an ideal place to see the magnificent sunset and marvel as the sun reflects on the sea at midnight.
Caroline and Christian Cottart, Paris

Mathieu Berkhaine, France

Maison bien agencé, très propres beaucoup de couchages cadre très sympathique.
The house is well arranged, very clean, lots of sleeping places and surroundings very pleasant.
Mathieu Berkhaine, Paris

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This